Harps 0-1 Rovers; Report

Sligo Rovers advanced to the quarter final of the EA Sports Cup following a hard worked 1-0 win over Finn Harps in Ballybofey. 
Mathew Stevens netted the game's only goal in the 115th minute of the game after 25 minutes was added on due to unfortunate injuries to Harps' Harry Doherty and Packie Mailey.
Both sides made eight changes from their respective previous league games. Rovers gave senior competitive debuts to John Mahon and Jack Keaney while Paul Doyle started his first game for the Bit O'Red. 
Following a quiet start, it was Harps who threatened first. Shaun Patton dealing with Simon McGlynn's effort on goal 19 minutes in. While Tommy McMonagle denied Mahon six minutes later after Keaney did well to cushion Craig Roddan's cross into the path of the young Collooney man. 
Patton pulled off another great save on the half hour again foiling McGlynn. 
Chris Kenny nodded narrowly wide of the post with Doherty looking a beaten man on the hour mark as both teams jostled for control. 
The game was then stopped for almost a half hour when Kenny, Doherty and Mailey all collided at the edge of the Harps area. Kenny emerged unscathed but lengthy treatment to both Doherty and Mailey was required.  
With 25 minutes added time, the pendulum finally swung Rovers' way in the 115th minute. Stevens' powerful header rocketing past Ciaran Gallagher as he met Daniel Kearns' cross with a thumping effort from close range. 
Sligo Rovers were encouraged to hear that both Doherty and Mailey were in good spirits following necessary medical treatment to both men after the game. We wish them both a speedy recovery from their respective injuries. 
Rovers are one of the eight teams in the EA Sports Cup Quarter Final. The tie will take place on May 1st. 
Finn Harps: Harry Doherty (Ciaran Gallagher 96); Damien McNulty, Packie Mailey, Thomas McMonagle; Michael Funston, Ethan Boyle, Gareth Doherty, Dylan McCroary, Ciaran Coll (Ciaran Kelly HT); Simon McGlynn, BJ Banda (Kealan McDermott 28).
Sligo Rovers: Shaun Patton; Tobi Adebayo-Rowling, Kyle McFadden, John Mahon, Paul Doyle; Craig Roddan, Chris Kenny, Jack Keaney; Daniel Kearns, Mathew Stevens, Regan Donelon (Kieran Sadlier 96).
Referee: John McLoughlin.

Recent Articles

Sligo Rovers are back in action this Monday (26 Feb) as they take on champions Cork City in The Showgrounds in the SSE Airtricity Premier Division.Over 5,300 have come through the turnstiles for the first two matches of the season, including 2,381...
Sligo Rovers manager Gerard Lyttle feels a good week of training and a lot of hard work saw his team overcome Derry City in The Showgrounds on Friday night. Click on the video to listen to the Bit O' Red boss 
Sligo Rovers picked up their first points of the season with a 2-1 victory over neighbours Derry City at The Showgrounds.Second-half goals from Adam Morgan and Alistair Roy appeared to be enough to secure all three points for Rovers, before Ronan...