Longford Town
Sligo Rovers

Tuesday, 31 January, 2017
3 - 2
Noel Haverty 18
Stephen Walsh 37
Cody Mulhall 82
Daniel Kearns 45, 73
Sligo Rovers suffered a narrow 3-2 loss to Longford Town at City Calling Stadium as the club's intense pre-season campaign continues. 
Noel Haverty and Stephen Walsh had given Longford a two goal cushion. Rovers rallied however and a brace from the brilliant Daniel Kearns either side of half-time restored parity. 
The home side won it late on as Cody Mulhall sent a looping header past Micheal Schlingermann.
Alan Mathews' men had the best of the early chances. Dylan McGlade denied by a fine save from Schlingermann on three minutes. While Haverty was unable to get the necessary touch to Jake Kelly's free kick six minutes later. 
The First Division favourites took the lead on 18. Don Cowan finding Haverty on the line who bundled the ball home. 
Rovers responded and went close twice through the lively Kieran Sadlier before the Midlanders doubled their advantage. Walsh nodding home Kelly's set piece on 37. 
Dave Robertson's side profited from their fighting spirit before the break. Sadlier's expert touch controlling a lofted cross from the right before he teed up Kearns who shot sharply past Jack Brady in the Longford goal. 
The Bit O'Red dominated the early parts of the second 45. John Russell, Sadlier and Kearns all peppering the goal with chances. 
This dominance paid off on 73. Again Sadlier and Kearns combined as the latter neatly clipped the ball past sub keeper Paul Skinner. 
Longford then struck seven minutes from time. Mulhall latching on to Kealan Dillon's free from the left as the ball sailed over Schlingermann to hand Longford the win.  
Rovers' next game is against Cliftonville this coming Friday at Solitude. Kick-off is 7.45pm. 
Longford Town: Jack Brady (Paul Skinner HT), Aidan Friel, Daniel O'Reilly (Aodh Dervin (75), Noel Haverty (Rhys Gorman 55), Stephen Walsh (Tristan Hofmann 64); Dean Zambra Gavin Boyne HT), Kevin O'Connor (Dan Beya HT), Don Cowan (Kealan Dillon HT), Dylan McGlade (Ian Fletcher 75); Enda Curran (David O'Sullivan HT), Jake Kelly (Cody Mulhall 55).  
Sligo Rovers: Micheal Schlingermann; Chris Kenny (Tobi Adebayo-Rowling HT), Mick Leahy, Kyle Callan-McFadden, Regan Donelon; Daniel Kearns, John Russell, Craig Roddan, Kieran Sadlier (Gary Boylan 74); Liam Martin; Jonah Ayunga (Mathew Stevens HT).